About the project

Guaranteeing the quality and competitiveness of Switzerland as a university and research hub via a nationwide literature supply

One basic requirement for successful research and teaching is access to e-resources for the academic community. This goes a long way towards securing Switzerland’s leading international position as a science hub.

The aim of the project is to provide Switzerland as a university and research centre with a nationwide supply of electronic journal archives from academic publishers. The areas of long-term archiving, PR, administration and statistics are also covered within the scope of the project.

The “National Licences” project is being funded by the programme “Scientific Information: Access, processing and safeguarding”, conducted by swissuniversities. Funds to the tune of CHF 7.6 million have been earmarked for the national licences to be acquired.


“Scientific Information”
Project partner
Consortium of Swiss Academic Libraries
Project Head National Licences
Dr Rafael Ball, ETH-Bibliothek
Project duration
CHF 10.17 Mio.
Organisation chart


PR work

The following information and marketing channels are used to promote national licences:

  • Compiling media information for the specialist press
  • Providing information for the general public on the consortium’s website
  • Presenting the project at national congresses in the scientific and public sector
Selection and negotiations

For the negotiations, the consortium receives support from a workgroup. An evaluation committee ensures that the contracts negotiated are in accord with the specifications of the support programme. The following four specifications were negotiated successfully:

Relevant contents: national licences cover a wealth of specialist areas – from the humanities and social sciences to the natural sciences, technology and medicine.
Details on the contents available

Access at national level: all consortium partners, cantonal libraries and private individuals enjoy access.
Details on access

Rolling archive: thanks to an annually growing rolling archive, current publication years are rendered accessible following an embargo (moving wall).
For details on the respective embargos, see contents available

Open access: green open access was negotiated successfully for national licences.
Details on open access and national licences

Administration and provision

Technical provision and user authentication

The products are provided on the publisher’s platform. Access for institution members is possible via the institution’s location (IP addresses) and remote access (Shibboleth). The technical solution for access by private individuals is being developed in collaboration with SWITCH.

Details on access

Preparation of metadata

For the central entry and administration of the data in a central metadata pool for Switzerland, this project uses the technical knowhow of swissbib.ch. The goal is to provide library-related metadata via various technical interfaces and in different formats so newly acquired products can be recorded in the various indexing systems, such as portals and catalogues.

Details on metadata management

Long-term archiving

Ensuring long-term access to national licences is a key aspect of the permanent use of the contents.

Details on long-term archiving

Usage statistics

The usage figures for the national licences are collected from the service-providers by the consortium office once or twice a year, processed and made available to the participating facilities for analysis. The statistics are processed in accordance with the COUNTER compatibility criteria.

Any questions or feedback on the project? Contact us at nl@consortium.ch.

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!

Über das Projekt


Sicherung der Qualität und Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des Hochschul- und Forschungsplatzes Schweiz mittels landesweiter Literaturversorgung

Eine Grundvoraussetzung für erfolgreiche Forschung und Lehre ist der Zugang der wissenschaftlichen Community zu e-Ressourcen. Dies trägt massgeblich zur Sicherung des internationalen Spitzenplatzes der Schweiz als Wissenschaftsstandort bei.

Ziel des Projekts ist die landesweite Versorgung des Hochschul- und Forschungsplatzes Schweiz mit elektronischen Zeitschriftenarchiven wissenschaftlicher Verlage. Auch die Arbeitsbereiche Langzeitarchivierung, Öffentlichkeitsarbeit sowie Verwaltung und Statistik werden im Rahmen des Projekts abgedeckt.

Das Projekt „Nationallizenzen“ wird durch das Programm „Wissenschaftliche Information: Zugang, Verarbeitung und Speicherung“, gefördert und von swissuniversities durchgeführt. Für die zu erwerbenden Nationallizenzen sind Mittel in der Höhe von CHF 7.6 Mio. reserviert.

Programm
“Wissenschaftliche Information”
Projektpartner
Konsortium der Schweizer Hochschulbibliotheken
Projektleitung Nationallizenzen
Dr. Rafael Ball, ETH-Bibliothek
Projektdauer
01.2015-06.2017
Fördermittel
CHF 10.17 Mio.
Organigramm
Download

Teilprojekte


Öffentlichkeitsarbeit

Zur Bewerbung der Nationallizenzen werden die folgenden Informations- und Marketingkanäle eingesetzt:

  • Erarbeitung einer Medieninformation für die Fachpresse
  • Informationen für die breite Öffentlichkeit auf der Website des Konsortiums
  • Präsentation des Projekts auf nationalen Tagungen im wissenschaftlichen und öffentlichen Sektor
Selektion und Verhandlungen

Das Konsortium wird bei den Verhandlungen durch eine Arbeitsgruppe unterstützt. Ein Evaluationsgremium stellt sicher, dass sich die verhandelten Verträge mit den Vorgaben des Förderprogramms decken. Die folgenden vier zentralen Vorgaben wurden erfolgreich verhandelt:

Relevanter Inhalt: Nationallizenzen decken eine Vielfalt an Fachgebieten von Sozial- und Geisteswissenschaften bis Naturwissenschaft, Technologie und Medizin ab.
Details zu den verfügbaren Inhalten

Zugriff auf nationaler Ebene: Zugriff haben alle Konsortialpartner, Kantonsbibliotheken sowie Privatpersonen.
Details zum Zugriff

Rollendes Archiv: Mittels eines jährlich wachsenden rollenden Archivs werden aktuelle Jahrgänge nach einem Embargo zugänglich gemacht (Moving Wall).
Details zu den jeweiligen Embargos siehe verfügbare Inhalte

Open Access: Green Open Access wurde für Nationallizenzen erfolgreich verhandelt.
Details zu Open Access und Nationallizenzen

Verwaltung und Bereitstellung

Technische Bereitstellung und Nutzerauthentifizierung

Die Produkte werden auf der Verlagsplattform bereitgestellt. Der Zugang für Institutionsangehörige ist über den Standort der Institution (IP-Adressen) und via Fernzugriff (Shibboleth) möglich. Die technische Lösung für den Zugriff für Privatpersonen wird in Zusammenarbeit mit SWITCH entwickelt.

Details zum Zugriff

Aufbereitung der Metadaten

Für die zentrale Eingabe und Pflege der Daten in einem zentralen Metadatenpool für die Schweiz nutzt dieses Projekt das technische Know-how von swissbib.ch. Ziel ist die Bereitstellung bibliothekarischer Metadaten über verschiedene technische Schnittstellen und in unterschiedlichen Formaten, so dass neu erworbene Produkte in die verschiedenen Nachweissysteme wie Portale und Kataloge eingespielt werden können.

Details zu Metadaten-Management

Langzeitarchivierung

Die langfristige Sicherung des Zugangs zu den Nationallizenzen ist ein wichtiger Aspekt im Hinblick auf eine dauerhafte Nutzung der Inhalte.

Details zur Langzeitarchivierung

Nutzungsstatistiken

Die Nutzungszahlen für die Nationallizenzen werden von der Geschäftsstelle des Konsortiums bei den Anbietern ein bis zwei Mal im Jahr gesammelt, aufbereitet und den teilnehmenden Einrichtungen zur Analyse zur Verfügung gestellt. Die Statistiken werden gemäss den Kriterien der COUNTER-Kompatibilität entsprechend aufbereitet.

Haben Sie Fragen oder Anregungen zum Projekt? Kontaktieren Sie uns unter nl@consortium.ch.

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!